Sum

This is not the poem that follows on from the previous post Fate – rather this is a poem that I feel sets the tone and compliments what will follow.

This poem is called “Sum”.

 

Out in this back water,

The place that felt like home

My life was all but slaughtered

With nothing left I could call my own.

If I only knew then,

What I’ve come to learn

Since God knows when,

Foundations to begin again.

Formulated – ink on paper stated,

Nature adds and I’ll subtract it later

I have known the greater of the two that’s

Equal now to less than half of you.

 

Out in this wilderness,

Searching for the sum of these parts

I’m put through the test

Windswept then drenched.

As I pull the pieces of this art together,

And weather the storm, this long division

Of my form: Re-route to be reborn.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.